Thinking and thanking.

Well, I can’t top this. Or this. Or this, or this, or any of the other beautiful posts I’m reading this Thanksgiving day. But, I am thankful indeed, and I’m going to tell you about it anyway.

I’m thankful that, though my extended family is sometimes stressful to be around, my grandmother is doing so well and was able to eat with us today.

I’m thankful for the time I was able to spend with old friends and the niece I love more than anything in the whole world in Alabama Monday and Tuesday.

I’m thankful for the friends I have “in real life,” who have stuck around through the drama and the weirdness and even the mundanity that have marked my life and our relationships.

I’m thankful for the friends I may never have met, but whose online writings (and tweetings!) have inspired and comforted me, whether they know it or not.

I’m thankful for those who may have hurt me or whom I may have hurt but who have allowed that to strengthen our determination to do right by each other. I’m thankful for the hope of better to come.

I’m thankful for hope, period.

I’m thankful for growth and change.

I’m thankful for my job, even if I’m not ever usually always that thrilled with it. I’m thankful to have a job, because not everyone does, and I’ve been in that number before.

I’m thankful for the 14-year-olds that force me to learn things about myself every day.

I’m thankful, as many I’ve read today have also said, for you and that you’re reading this right now. That you bother to come back and read, sometimes on a regular basis. It means the world.

I pray you’re surrounded by love, wherever you may be on this holiday.

4 responses to “Thinking and thanking.

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you too, Holly. I’m glad to hear your grandmother was well enough to join the festivities, too.